Billy Moyer Jr. Goes to Victory Lane with the American Ethanol Late Model Tour

June 21, 2016


Wednesday Night Special at Mt. Pleasant Next for AELMT


(Tuesday, June 21, 2016) - This past Friday night at the Hartford Speedway the American Ethanol Late Model Tour pulled in pit side for the second event of the young season. The track was fast and the competition was fierce with thirty-two cars in the field attempting to fill twenty-two positions in the A main for a shot at $4,000.


In group qualifying, Frankfort, Illinois’s Frank Heckenast Jr. set the pace and picked up the Allstar Performance fast time award with the fastest lap around the wicked half mile with a time of 19.424 seconds. He was followed by Eric Spangler with a time of 19.539 and Jon Henry rounded out the top three with a time of 19.551.


The drivers raced three heats advancing the top five from each ten lap event into the Halloween 31 lap feature. Grabbing the first checkered flag of the night was the current point leader and feature winner of the series opener at Merritt Speedway, Dona Marcoullier. Finishing second was Eric Spangler, Brandon Thirlby came cross the line in third, while Logan Arntz and Chad Finley rounded out the top five.


The second heat went to Jeep Van Wormer with Jon Henry close behind in second. Third went to Ryan Vanderveen, Brian Ruhlman finished in fourth, and Chad White rounded out the top five to advance to the feature.


The third and final heat was dominated by Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Arkansas. He was followed across the line by Rich Bell, Frank Heckenast Jr., Rich Neiser, and Hartford Speedway’s own Curt Spalding made a last lap pass to round out the top five.


There were two last chance qualifying events consisting of twelve laps apiece. The top three advancing from the first LCQ were Rusty Schlenk, Travis Stemler, and Steve Fairbanks in that respective order. The second LCQ was won by Casey Noonan. He was followed by Justin Pauley in second and Bill Bray finished in third.


The final event of the evening for the American Ethanol Late Model Tour was the Halloween 31. Moyer Jr. sped away from the field at the start from his second place starting position. He led from the drop of the green flag and through numerous restarts to grab the big check at the end of the night. Dona Marcoullier followed up his feature win with a strong second place showing by holding off Jon Henry in third. Fourth went to the night’s Allstar Performance Hard Charger Award Winner, Rusty Schlenk. Schlenk fought through the field from the sixteenth starting position. Finishing in the fifth spot was Rich Bell.


This Wednesday night the American Ethanol Late Model Tour will invade Mt. Pleasant, Michigan and the 3/8 mile of the Mt. Pleasant Speedway. The evening will feature another fast night of racing action and another big pay check of $4,000 for the winner of the main event. The late models will be joined by the speedway’s own Krapohl Ford B-Mod/IMCA $750 to win special event. The action will begin with gates opening at 4:00 o’clock, hot laps at 6:15, qualifying to follow and the first green flag of the evening will fall at 7:00 p.m. For more information visit the American Ethanol Late Model Tour online at or on Facebook and Twitter.


By: Andrew D. Hayn - Motor City Racing Promotions | American Ethanol Late Model Tour

Photo By: 

Please reload

Featured Posts

American Ethanol Late Model Tour Cease Operations

January 9, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts