Race Day - Thursday, June 15th, 2017 - Merritt Speedway (MI)

June 15, 2017

Today (Thursday, June 15th) is Race Day 2.0! After Mother Nature intervened immediately following the American Ethanol Modified Tour presented by Allstar Performance Feature, Merritt Speedway and American Ethanol Late Model Tour Officials agreed to postpone the highest paying event in the three-year history of the AELMT to Today, Thursday, June 15th. 


The fast ¼ (0.250) mile semi-banked dirt oval of Merritt Speedway, located west of Houghton Lake in Lake City, Michigan hosts the 3rd Annual Merritt Showdown (2.0) as the 50-Lap main will pay a cool $10,000 to the winner.


The AELMT has visited Merritt on four occasions with two of those races, the Merritt Showdown. Defending AELMT Champion, Dona Marcoullier comes into this race as the defending race winner and leads all drivers with two total victories. Five-Time and Defending Track Champion, Eric Spangler won the inaugural Merritt Showdown in 2015 while the Inaugural AELMT Champion from the same year, Rich Neiser scored a victory there to clinch the 2015 title.


After the Redraw from last night, Ryan VanderVeen and Spangler will bring the field down to the Green Flag for the main event. 

This event is the first of three appearances at the Mike Blackmer owned facility. The AELMT return on Sunday, July 2nd for the Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort $5 Night & Fireworks and once more on Sunday, September 3rd. 


Schedule of Events - Thursday, June 15th, 2017 – Merritt Speedway - Lake City, Michigan

6:00p.m. - Pit Gates Open / Grandstand Gates Open

7:00p.m. - AELMT Autograph Session

7:55p.m. – Invocation / National Anthem

8:00p.m. - Racing Begins

Four Cylinders Feature (25 Laps)

AELMT Feature (50 Laps)

AELMT Boyne Machine B Feature (15 Laps)


American Ethanol Feature (Don’s Auto Clinic 50): (Starting Lineup)

  1. 23v Ryan VanderVeen

  2. 27 Eric Spangler

  3. 6m Dona Marcoullier

  4. 79 Nick Kurtz

  5. 49 Brian Ruhlman

  6. 91 Rusty Schlenk

  7. 87 Rich Neiser

  8. 94 Bill Bray

  9. 21t Derek Thebo ®

  10. 25cb Chris Brindley

  11. m14 Brandon Thirlby

  12. 9* Jesse Playter ®

  13. 21 Rich Bell

  14. 1 Michael Luberda

  15. 9r Curtis Roberts

  16. 33x Greg Gokey

  17. 4 Jason Playter Jr.

  18. 72 Kyle Borgman

  19. 111 Curt Spalding (AELMT Provisional)

  20. 44 Matt Shipley ® (Added to the field when 77 Steve Kester withdrew)

  21. 51 Steve Fairbanks (Added to the field when x3 Dan Wallace withdrew) 

  22. 3 Chad Foster Sr. (Merritt Provisional)

Will Not Start: 77 Steve Kester, x3 Dan Wallace ®


Boyne Machine Company B Feature (15 Laps / Non-Transfer Race): (Starting Lineup)

  1. 4t Andrew Terrill

  2. 2 Travis Stemler

  3. 16 Garrett Wiles ®

  4. 21a Logan Arntz

  5. 87k Josh Knoll

  6. 1r Todd Rosebrugh

  7. 73 Logan Love

  8. 34 Herb Reich

  9. 21s Tom Sprague Jr.

  10. 33 Bobby Timmer

  11. 32 Dave Bowen

  12. 16s Mike Staszak


Click on the link provided for more event information: MerrittSpeedwayMI.com/Showdown2017

Click on the link provided to follow live timing and scoring, via MCRP & Race Monitor:

Follow AELMT on Twitter for exclusive live updates for the Late Models throughout Race Day at: Twitter.com/AELMT


Like AELMT on Facebook for pictures and more from behind the scenes throughout Race Day at: Facebook.com/AmericanEthanolLateModelTour

Please reload

Featured Posts

American Ethanol Late Model Tour Cease Operations

January 9, 2020

Please reload