Ryan Missler Finds Victory Lane in Buckeye 40

May 12, 2019


Attica, OH ( Saturday, May 11, 2019) - For the first time in six weeks, the American Ethanol Late Model Tour (AELMT) was back in action Friday from Attica Raceway Park.  Fourty of the areas best UMP Late Model drivers checked in for a chance to take home $4,000, and the bragging rights of being an AELMT feature winner.


The night started with American Ethanol qualifying, where four groups would do battle for the chance to win the Motul Motor Oil and Lubricants Fast Qualifier Award.  Mike Bores led the way in group one, turning in a 14.477 second lap time ahead of Steve Kester and Matt Shipley. Doug Drown led the way in group two with a 14.580 over Ryan Markham and David Mielke.  In group three, it was Brandon Thirlby who beat out Gregg Satterlee and Zack Dohm. Devin Shields turned quick time in group four with a 14.816 over Chad Finley and Ryan Missler. A scary moment during the final cluster of group four, when Travis Stemler entered turn one during his warm up lap, the car rocketed into a barrel roll before coming to rest over the embankment of turn two.  Stemler was ok, and the Scott and Pam Phillips Motorsports crew unloaded a back-up car for the remainder of the night.




Allstar Performance Heat Race number one saw a number of single car spins before the first lap of the race was ever recorded.  Once the field was rolling, however, it was Kester who controlled the way, going on to win ahead of Shipley, Gregg Haskell and Dan Wallace.  In American Ethanol Heat Race number two, Drown set the pace with the heat race win over Mielke, Markham and Eric Spangler. DUPONT heat race number three saw Satterlee hold off Dohm and a charging Thirlby for the win.  Finally, in Zeigler Ford Heat Race number four, Missler showed his strength, fighting off Shields, Finley, and Steve Casebolt. The top four from each heat race went directly into the Buckeye 40, while everyone else prepared for one of two Last Chance Qualifiers.


Only two drivers would transfer out of the Last Chance Qualifiers races, and Rich Bell and Nick Kurtz walked away with the first LCQ of the evening.  In the second LCQ, the final two spots were on the line, and Matt Irey and Stemler waged a battle as though it was for the main event win. The two drove away from the field, putting nearly a full straight away gap on third spot Brad Wade.  They would hang on to transfer into the main event. Logan Arntz was awarded the AELMT points provisional.


From there, the field was set for the Buckeye 40.  Doug Drown and Ryan Missler led the field to green ahead of Steve Kester and Matt Shipley.  The event went green with Drown jumping out to the early lead, with Missler settling into second.  A few drivers found their sweet spot early, including Devin Shields and Gregg Satterlee. They quickly made moves from their fourth row starting spots, to within the top five.  The first and only caution of the night flew on lap 13 when Chad Finley went around in turn four.

The caution was timely for Drown, who was struggling to get through the back markers, and had allowed Satterlee, Missler, and Shields to close in to striking distance.  On the restart, Drown was able to again pull out into the lead. Satterlee and Missler traded lines for several laps, as Satterlee would use the top of the race track through one and two, as Missler worked the bottom, and then Satterlee would take to the bottom in three and four, while Missler worked the top shelf.  Satterlee competed the pass for second, and it appeared as though Missler would settle for a third place finish.


Just past the halfway point in the event, Drown found himself preparing to deal with back markers again.  By this time, Satterlee had moved to within striking distance, and was turning up the heat on Drown. Satterlee pulled along side on several attempts to move his number 22 into the lead, but never could complete the pass.  Then, with just over 10 laps to go, Satterlee and Drown came out of turn two in a side-by-side battle, as they were doing that, the back marker of Logan Arntz had trouble getting off of turn two. Drown, making moves to avoid Arntz, nearly made contact with Satterlee, as they corrected their race cars, Missler saw his chance to strike, and split the pair down the back stretch, taking command of the field going into turn three.  Satterlee completed the pass on Drown, but never could reel in Missler, as he went on to collect his first career AELMT win and his largest payout to date, a nice $4,000. Satterlee and Drown held on for podium finishes, while Brandon Thirlby charged from an 11th starting spot to a fourth place finish, ahead of Devin Shields.


Next up for the AELMT is a doubleheader weekend in the Hoosier State.  Saturday, May 18th Brownstown, Indiana’s Brownstown Speedway welcomes the AELMT for their first ever appearance, before the American Ethanol Showdown on Sunday, May 19th from Gas City I-69 Speedway in Gas City, Indiana.


For gate times, other dates, and more information about the American Ethanol Tours, log onto aelmt.com, and follow the Tour on social media, including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.


Unofficial Results

Buckeye 40

1. Ryan Missler

2. Gregg Satterlee

3. Doug Drown

4. Brandon Thirlby

5. Devin Shields

6. Zack Dohm

7. Ryan Markham

8. David Mielke

9. Steve Kester

10. Eric Spangler

11. Rusty Schlenk

12. Rich Bell

13. Travis Stemler

14. Logan Arntz

15. Gregg Haskell

16. Dan Wallace

17. Matt Shipley

18. Nick Kurtz

19. Steve Casebolt

20. Chad Finley

21. Matt Irey


Allstar Performance Heat Race #1

1. Steve Kester

2. Matt Shipley

3. Gregg Haskell

4. Dan Wallace

5. Kent Brewer

6. Austin Goon

7. Jimmie Ward, Jr.

8. Dana Frey

9. Mike Bores


American Ethanol Heat Race #2

1. Doug Drown

2. David Mielke

3. Ryan Markham

4. Eric Spangler

5. Matt Irey

6. Brad Wade

7. Brett Miller

8. Dusty Moore

9. Mike Laberta


DUPONT Heat Race #3

1. Gregg Satterlee

2. Zack Dohm

3. Brandon Thirlby 

4. Rusty Schlenk

5. Rich Bell

6. Nick Kurtz

7. Jeff Warnick

8. Doug Baird

9. Logan Arntz


Zeigler Ford Heat Race #4

1. Ryan Missler

2. Devin Shields

3. Chad Finley

4. Steve Casebolt

5. Travis Stemler

6. Josh Haynes

7. Ryan Eddleblute

8. Nate Potts

9. Bob Mayer

10. Dustin Keegan


Last Chance Qualifier Number 1

1. Rich Bell

2. Nick Kurtz

3. Jeff Warnick

4. Mike Bores

5. Logan Arntz

6. Kent Brewer

7. Jimmie Ward, Jr

8. Doug Baird

9. Austin Goon

10. Dana Frey


Last Chance Qualifier Number 2

1. Matt Irey

2. Travis Stemler

3. Brad Wade

4. Dusty Moore

5. Brett Miller

6. Josh Haynes

7. Nate Potts

8. Bob Mayer

9. Dustin Keegan


Jim DenHamer Photos


Please reload

Featured Posts

American Ethanol Late Model Tour Cease Operations

January 9, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts